Record · Utility siting
AEP Ohio Lyka Transmission Project — 345kV substation + ~4mi transmission line, Sugar Creek Township, Allen County
aep-lyka-transmission-2026
meta
- subject AEP Ohio Lyka Transmission Project — 345kV substation + ~4mi transmission line, Sugar Creek Township, Allen County
- kind grid-siting-project
- captured_for issue
- extracted_at 2026-07-11
- method manual read of AEP's own captured fact sheet/map text+graphic layers, cross-checked against opsb.ohio.gov and AEP's regulatory-filings index (no case found); figures quoted from AEP's own materials, customer attribution sourced to secondary press and labelled accordingly
- sources
- primary
- file data/documents/grid/aep-lyka-2026/Lyka_ProjectFactsheet_V2.pdf
- file data/documents/grid/aep-lyka-2026/Lyka_MapPoster2.pdf
- url https://www.ohiohistory.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/SubmissionsReceivedApril2026.pdf
- secondary
- url https://www.limaohio.com/top-stories/2026/04/21/aep-ohio-plans-substation-on-google-property-4-miles-of-power-lines/
- url https://www.limaohio.com/top-stories/2026/05/06/aep-seeks-comment-on-new-substation/
- url https://www.hometownstations.com/news/allen_county/aep-hosts-open-house-on-proposed-lyka-transmission-project-in-allen-county/article_98493891-7226-4d03-afca-c071a93c2d9d.html
- url https://www.blufftonicon.com/news/2026/04/21/aep-ohio-open-house-planned-power-grid-upgrades-allen-county
- primary
project
- name Lyka Transmission Project
- tag [verified]
- applicant AEP Ohio (AEP Ohio Transmission Company, Inc.)
- scope
- substation
- name Lyka Substation
- location On a customer-owned parcel between N West St and N Cole St, Sugar Creek Township, Allen County
- source Lyka_ProjectFactsheet_V2.pdf p.1 ("What")
- line
- length_miles ~4
- voltage_kv 345
- connects_to An existing transmission line located north of West Hook-Waltz and Tudor roads, Sugar Creek Township
- structures Steel monopole; typical height 140-170 ft; typical ROW width ~150 ft
- final_route —
- source Lyka_ProjectFactsheet_V2.pdf p.1-2, Lyka_MapPoster2.pdf
- substation
- purpose
- tag [verified]
- statement "Supports economic development," "meets the growing energy demand in the area," and "provides service for a commercial customer's facility."
- source Lyka_ProjectFactsheet_V2.pdf p.1 ("Why")
- named_customer
- tag [open]
- statement Neither AEP's project page nor its fact sheet names a customer. AEP staff (Brian Recker, Project Outreach Specialist) told local press "We're not able to disclose specifically any customers" (LimaOhio.com, 2026-05-06/07).
- source Lyka_ProjectFactsheet_V2.pdf p.1 (customer not named); https://www.limaohio.com/top-stories/2026/05/06/aep-seeks-comment-on-new-substation/ (published 2026-05-07, Recker quote, secondary)
schedule
- tag [verified]
- source Lyka_ProjectFactsheet_V2.pdf p.1 ("Project Schedule" table)
- project_announcement_and_virtual_open_house Spring 2026
- project_open_house
- planned Spring 2026
- actual_date 2026-05-06
- note Reconciles the only apparent date conflict in press coverage: the Bluffton Icon (2026-04-21) and an earlier LimaOhio.com piece (2026-04-21, "AEP Ohio plans substation on Google property...") were published ~2 weeks BEFORE the event, announcing the then-upcoming 2026-05-06 open house — they are not a second, earlier open house. LimaOhio.com's follow-up (2026-05-06, published 2026-05-07, "AEP seeks comment on new substation") confirms the open house was held Wednesday evening, i.e. 2026-05-06, matching AEP's own fact sheet. No genuine 04-21-vs-05-06 discrepancy — one is the announcement date, the other the event date.
- right_of_way_communications Spring 2026 - Fall 2028
- regulatory_filing_with_opsb
- planned Early 2027
- filed —
- anticipated_opsb_decision Spring 2027
- construction Fall 2027 - Summer 2028
- facilities_placed_in_service Summer 2028
- restoration_activities Summer 2028 - Fall 2028
- caveat *Timeline subject to change — printed on AEP's own fact sheet.
opsb_case_status
- tag [verified]
- statement As of this capture (2026-07-11), no Ohio Power Siting Board case number has been filed or assigned for the Lyka Transmission Project. AEP's own schedule places the regulatory filing at "Early 2027" and an anticipated decision at "Spring 2027" — both still in the future relative to this capture. Direct searches of opsb.ohio.gov's case listings and AEP's own Ohio regulatory-filings index (https://www.aeptransmission.com/ohio/filings.php) turned up no matching case as of 2026-07-11.
- source Lyka_ProjectFactsheet_V2.pdf p.1 (schedule table); opsb.ohio.gov + aeptransmission.com/ohio/filings.php (absence, searched 2026-07-11)
- distinct_from
- tag [verified]
- statement A separate Ohio History Connection (State Historic Preservation Office) project-review submission — OHPO project ID 2026ALL68059, titled "Lyka Station STATCOM Project," received 2026-04-08, projected response 2026-05-07 — is not the Ohio Power Siting Board certificate proceeding for the substation + transmission line. It runs on a distinct statutory review track (state historic-preservation consultation) from the OPSB siting process this project record otherwise tracks.
- source https://www.ohiohistory.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/SubmissionsReceivedApril2026.pdf
- same_site_relationship
- tag [inference]
- statement The "STATCOM" name and the shared "Lyka" site name suggest this OHPO submission covers a related but narrower scope than the 345kV substation/transmission project — a STATCOM/reactive-power installation at the same site — but the submissions log itself does not state that relationship; it is reasoned from the shared name/site, not read off the record.
- source https://www.ohiohistory.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/SubmissionsReceivedApril2026.pdf (project title/site only; relationship not stated by the record)
google_bistrozzi_attribution
- tag [inference]
- statement AEP's own materials never name a customer. Secondary local press, however, directly and repeatedly ties the project to the Google/Bistrozzi "Bosc" campus: LimaOhio.com's 2026-04-21 headline and lede state "AEP Ohio plans substation on Google property" and "The plan calls for building the Lyka Substation on Google's under-construction property between North West and North Cole streets in Sugar Creek Township" — the same block AEP's fact sheet describes, and the same address the corpus already documents as the Bistrozzi LLC "Bosc" campus (4110 N Cole St; data/extracted/permits/4132514.epa.yaml). Companion coverage (hometownstations.com, Yahoo/LimaOhio 2026-05-06/07) similarly places the substation "close to the Google data center under construction" while noting AEP declined to confirm the customer "for privacy reasons." No OPSB filing, AEP project page, or AEP fact sheet corroborates this directly — it rests entirely on secondary reporting, so it stays [inference], not [verified], per the standing evidentiary discipline for the Google/Bistrozzi identity (docs/investigative-method/ENRICHMENT.md; data/entities/profiles/relation-classes.yaml's existing `GOOGLE: possible_end_user` annotation, which the same discipline keeps off-graph absent a naming instrument).
- would_upgrade_to_verified_with
- An OPSB application or certificate naming the customer/load
- An AEP Ohio filing, tariff record, or public statement naming Google/Bistrozzi
- source https://www.limaohio.com/top-stories/2026/04/21/aep-ohio-plans-substation-on-google-property-4-miles-of-power-lines/ (quoted directly above); https://www.hometownstations.com/news/allen_county/aep-hosts-open-house-on-proposed-lyka-transmission-project-in-allen-county/article_98493891-7226-4d03-afca-c071a93c2d9d.html (2026-05-06, "close to the Google data center under construction" / declined-to-confirm quote); Lyka_ProjectFactsheet_V2.pdf p.1 (customer not named, contrast)
corridor_linkage
- closes_the_air_permit_grid_punt
- tag [verified]
- statement OEPA Air PTI P0138965's Response to Comments explicitly referred grid/power questions to PUCO/the utility, out of the air permit's scope ("Power Grid (referred to PUCO / utility)"). This is the first primary-utility-project instrument in the corpus that begins to answer that referral — AEP Ohio is building dedicated 345kV interconnection infrastructure in the same township, on schedule to be in-service Summer 2028.
- source data/extracted/permits/4132514.epa.yaml (Response to Comments, "Power Grid" topic); Lyka_ProjectFactsheet_V2.pdf
- serving_utility_corroboration
- tag [inference]
- statement A new, dedicated 345kV substation and transmission line sited in the same township as the Bosc campus corroborates (does not newly establish) the existing AEP Ohio serving-utility finding — grounded in the relator data appendix's AEP Ohio tariff citation and Allen County commissioners' Res #974-25 (AEP-Ohio Power three-phase-service agreement) — but does not by itself confirm the Bosc campus is the specific Lyka customer (see google_bistrozzi_attribution above).
- source Lyka_ProjectFactsheet_V2.pdf; data/extracted/legal/select-committee-2026/relator-testimony/bosc-data-appendix-2026-06-01.md (25 MW AEP Ohio tariff threshold); data/documents/commissioners/meetings/M121825.pdf (Res #974-25, 2025-12-18, AEP-Ohio Power three-phase-service agreement); these are the same underlying records src/watermark/sites/_profiles.py's Lima `serving_utility_citation` cites
- no_new_facility_field
- tag [open]
- statement `SiteFacility`/`SiteProfile` (src/watermark/sites/_model.py) has no substation/transmission/interconnection-queue knob — modeling this project as a schema field was considered and deferred (per issue #1476's "consider") pending a named customer/interconnection agreement; it would otherwise require either fabricating a Bosc-specific MW/queue figure this project does not disclose, or adding a field this repo's one other analogous case (Urbana #1327, site-plan-grounded) also chose to carry as extraction prose rather than a new Pydantic field.
Where it connects
grid/aep-lyka-transmission-2026.project.yaml · — · grid